Cast Your Vote: Women’s Sports Foundation to Honor 2017 “Sportswoman of the Year”

Published on August 16th, 2017


WHAT: Starting August 16, the Women’s Sports Foundation will open voting for its Sportswoman of the Year award that celebrates the incredible performances of an individual sport athlete and team sport athlete. Recent past winners of this prestigious honor include Ashleigh Johnson, Claressa Shields, Serena Williams, Carli Lloyd, Simone Biles, Missy Franklin, Yuna Kim, Candace Parker and Lorena Ochoa.

The athletes on the 2017 ballot – representing 18 sports and seven different countries – have distinguished themselves from the field with their record-breaking, historic and simply amazing athletic performances over a twelve-month period (between Aug. 22, 2016 and Jul. 31, 2017). Sportswoman of the Year award winners will be crowned at the Foundation’s 38th Annual Salute to Women in Sports awards gala on Wednesday, Oct. 18, in New York City. Click here for more information or to purchase tables and tickets for the biggest night in women’s sports.

Voting opens to the public at 11 a.m. ET on Wednesday, Aug. 16. The official hashtag is #SOY2017.

*Nominations are made by sport governing bodies and the public. The public and the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Awards Committee select the award recipients. The recipient in each category will be the athlete who receives the highest combined share of a public vote (50% of composite) and the Awards Committee vote (50% of composite).

 WHEN:  Voting: August 16 – August 27 at 11:59 p.m. ET
 WHO:  The Women’s Sports Foundation—the leading authority on the participation of women and girls in sports—dedicated to creating leaders by providing all girls access to sports.

2017 Sportswoman of the Year Finalists (Recipients to be announced at Annual Salute to Women in Sports; some finalists will be in attendance)

Individual Sport:  Team Sport:
  •  Heather Bergsma (Speed Skating)
  • Inna Deriglazova (Fencing)
  • Anna Gasser (Snowboarding)
  • Katie Ledecky (Swimming)
  • Tatyana McFadden (Paralympic Track & Field)
  • Evgenia Medvedeva (Figure Skating)
  • Becca Meyers (Paralympic Swimming)
  • So Yeon Ryu (Golf)
  • Mikaela Shiffrin (Alpine Skiing)
  • Elaine Thompson (Track & Field)
  •  Valerie Arioto
  • Brianna Decker
    (Ice Hockey)
  • Heather Erickson
    (Sitting Volleyball)
  • Rachel Homan
  • Talita Da Rocha Antunes & Larissa França Maestrini
    (Beach Volleyball)
  • Lucie Safarova & Bethanie Mattek-Sands (Tennis)
  • Marie McCool (Lacrosse)
  • Maya Moore (Basketball)
  • Maggie Steffens (Water Polo)
  • Elana Meyers Taylor (Bobsleigh)

Media Contact: Aleia Naylor | 646.783.3891