Donate Now!

Sportswoman of the Year

Honoring the Year's Best in Women's Sports

NEW YORK, NY - OCTOBER 15: Back-to-back World Gymnastics Champion Simone Biles is presented with the Sportswoman of the Year Award (individual) onstage during the WomenÂ’s Sports FoundationÂ’s 35th Annual Salute to Women In Sports awards, a celebration and a fundraiser to ensure more girls and women have access to sports, at Cipriani Wall Street on October 15, 2014 in New York City. (Photo by Michael Loccisano/Getty Images)


Every year, at our Annual Salute to Women in Sports, we recognize an individual sport athlete and team sport athlete whose performances over a 12-month time span have been exceptional. Past winners include Venus and Serena Williams, Abby Wambach, Meryl Davis, Simone Biles, Yani Tseng and Candace Parker. Simply put: our Sportswoman of the Year Award is one of the most prestigious in the game.

The public and the Women’s Sports Foundation’s Awards Committee select the award winners by a 50-50 vote. The winners will be those two athletes who receive the highest combined share of a public vote (50% of composite) and the Awards Committee vote (50% of the composite).

Past Individual Sport Winners

Oksana Masters 2018
Katie Ledecky 2017
Claressa Shields 2016
Serena Williams 2015
Simone Biles 2014
Missy Franklin 2013
Gabby Douglas 2012
Yani Tseng 2011
Yuna Kim 2010
Courtney Kupets 2009
Nastia Liukin 2008
Lorena Ochoa 2007
Melanie Troxel 2006
Erin Popovich 2005
Annika Sorenstam 2004
Natalie Coughlin 2003
Sarah Hughes 2002
Stacy Dragila 2001
Jenny Thompson 2000
Juli Inkster 1999
Michelle Kwan 1998
Gail Devers 1997
Amy Van Dyken 1996
Bonnie Blair 1995
Bonnie Blair 1994
Julie Krone 1993


Past Team Sport Winners

Maddie Rooney 2018
Maya Moore 2017
Ashleigh Johnson 2016
Carli Lloyd 2015
Meryl Davis 2014
Candace Parker 2013
Alex Morgan 2012
Abby Wambach 2011
Katie O’Donnell 2010
Jessie Vetter 2009
Jessica Mendoza 2008
Monica Abbott 2007
Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh 2006
Cat Osterman 2005
Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh 2004
Lisa Leslie 2003
Sue Bird 2002
Lisa Leslie 2001
Serena & Venus Williams 2000
Mia Hamm 1999
Cynthia Cooper 1998
Mia Hamm 1997
Teresa Edwards 1996
Rebecca Lobo 1995
Lisa Fernandez 1994
Sheryl Swoopes 1993

Past Professional Winners

Pat Bradley 1992
Meg Mallon 1991
Paula Newby-Fraser 1990
Steffi Graf 1989
Susan Butcher 1988
Susan Butcher 1987
Lynette Woodard 1986
Libby Riddles 1985
Martina Navratilova 1984
Martina Navratilova 1983
Martina Navratilova 1982
Chris Evert 1981
Tracy Austin 1980


Past Amateur Winners

Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1992
Jean Driscoll 1991
Lori Norwood 1990
Janet Evans 1989
Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1988
Jackie Joyner-Kersee 1987
Debi Thomas 1986
Michele Mitchell 1985
Joan Benoit 1984
Mary Lou Retton 1984
Mary Decker 1983
Mary Decker 1982
Tracy Caulkins 1981
Mary Decker 1980