Donate Now!

Flo Hyman Memorial Award

Awards_Flo HymanFrom 1987 to 2004, the Flo Hyman Memorial Award was presented by the Women’s Sports Foundation during the month of February in Washington, D.C., in conjunction with National Girls and Women in Sports Day to an outstanding female athlete, who exemplified Flo Hyman’s dignity, spirit, and commitment to excellence. Hyman, who was captain of the 1984 U.S. Olympic volleyball team, led her team to a silver medal and brought U.S. women’s volleyball worldwide recognition and respect. She died suddenly from Marfan Syndrome, a connective tissue disorder, while playing in Japan in 1986.

Past Winners

Martina Navratilova               1987
Jackie Joyner-Kersee               1988
Evelyn Ashford               1989
Chris Evert               1990
Diana Golden               1991
Nancy Lopez               1992
Lynette Woodard               1993
Patty Sheehan               1994
Mary Lou Retton               1995
Donna de Varona               1996
Billie Jean King               1997
Nadia Comaneci               1998
Bonnie Blair               1999
Monica Seles              2000
Lisa Leslie              2001
Dr. Dot Richardson              2002
Nawal El Moutawakel              2003
Kristi Yamaguchi              2004