Donate Now!

Darlene A. Kluka Award


The Women’s Sports Foundation relies on research to dispel myths and educate the public about the benefits of sport participation, active living for girls and women, and the role of women as leaders in and through sport.

The Darlene A. Kluka Women’s Sports and Physical Activity Research Award is named for Dr. Darlene A. Kluka, full professor and Dean in the School of Human Performance & Leisure Sciences at Barry University, Miami Shores, Fla. She is also past president of the International Association of Physical Education and Sport for Girls and Women (IAPESGW) as well as a past president of the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

Dr. Kluka has dedicated her studies to providing sound research and projects designed in the area of sport science, particularly with a focus on women. The award was established in 2001 as the Foundation’s way of respecting her leadership, vision and desire to create a legacy that acknowledges the outstanding performance of researchers. It encourages their continued commitment to conduct studies involving women, sport and physical activity.

Past Winners

Professor Maria Beatriz Rocha Ferreira 2017
Dr. Vivian Acosta & Dr. Linda Carpenter 2012
Dr. Carole Oglesby 2011
Dr. Don Sabo 2010
Dr. Anneliese Goslin 2009
Dr. Ellen Staurowsky 2008
Dr. Celia Brackenridge 2007
Dr. Gertrud Pfister 2006
Dr. Kari Fasting 2005
Dr. Mary Jo Kane 2003
Dr. Barbara Drinkwater 2001