Donate Now!

Sportswoman of the Year voting commences

New York, N.Y., August 24, 2010– The Women's Sports Foundation will celebrate the accomplishments of the top women athletes at the 31st Annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards gala on Tuesday, October 12, 2010. The annual fundraising gala hosted by Mary Carillo will take place at New York City’s famed Waldorf=Astoria Hotel.

An impressive list of elite athletes from 20 different sports is vying for the evening’s top honors – Sportswoman of the Year – Individual and Team awards.

The 2010 finalists have distinguished themselves from the field by their record-breaking, historic, or simply amazing athletic performances. Each year, the Women's Sports Foundation recognizes these women for their incredible achievements as members of a team and as individual performers.

Athletes were considered for the 2010 ballot based on their athletic achievements between August 1, 2009, and July 31, 2010. Nominations for the Sportswoman of the Year – Individual and Team awards are made by sport governing bodies and the public. Sportswoman of the Year finalists will be voted on by Foundation membership and the public from August 24, through midnight EST on August 31, 2010. Be a part of history and cast your ballot for the Individual and Team Sportswoman of the Year awards on

Sportswoman of the Year award recipients will be announced during the Annual Salute to Women in Sports awards gala. Star athletes, celebrities from film and television, journalists, Fortune 500 businesses, and government and civic elite, will come together on October 12th for the unveiling of this year’s winners.


Individual Sport

  • Torah Bright, Snowboarding
  • Rebecca Bross, Gymnastics
  • Yu-Na Kim, Figure skating
  • Kelly Kulick, Bowling
  • Ai Miyazato, Golf
  • Alana Nichols, Paralympic Skiing
  • Sanya Richards, Track & Field
  • Anna Tunnicliffe, Sailing
  • Lindsey Vonn, Skiing
  • Serena Williams, Tennis

Team Sport

  • Meghan Agosta, Ice Hockey
  • Betsey Armstrong, Water Polo
  • Jennie Finch, Softball
  • Larissa Franca & Juliana Felisberta Silva, Beach Volleyball
  • Megan Hodge, Volleyball
  • Kaillie Humphries & Heather Moyse, Bobsled
  • Caitlyn McFadden, Lacrosse
  • Katie O’Donnell, Field Hockey
  • Diana Taurasi, Basketball
  • Marta Vieira da Silva, Soccer

Past Sportswoman of the Year recipients include…

Individual: Nastia Liukin, Gymnastics; Lorena Ochoa, Golf; Erin Popovich, Paralympic Swimming; Michelle Kwan, Figure Skating; and Gail Devers, Track & Field

Team: Jessica Mendoza, Softball; Misty May-Treanor & Kerri Walsh, Beach Volleyball; Lisa Leslie, Basketball; Serena & Venus Williams, Tennis; and Mia Hamm, Soccer

For more information on how to purchase a table or tickets for this star studded event, please contact Kerry Milhaven at or visit

About the Women’s Sports Foundation
The Women’s Sports Foundation, founded in 1974, is the leader in promoting sports, health and education for girls and women. With Billie Jean King as its founder and ongoing visionary, The Women’s Sports Foundation continues to have a profound impact on female athletics, from its vigorous advocacy of Title IX legislation to providing grants and scholarships, grassroots programs for underserved girls, and groundbreaking research. An agent for change, the Women’s Sports Foundation has relationships with more than 1,000 of the world’s elite female athletes and is recognized globally for its leadership, vision, strength, expertise and influence. For more information, please call the Women’s Sports Foundation at 800.227.3988 or visit