ANNIKA Inspiration Award

Honoring a girl who demonstrates athleticism, dedication, leadership and the ability to inspire others.

A person’s ability to truly inspire others and encourage them to do their best is rare and deserves recognition. The ANNIKA Inspiration Award was created in 2009 to honor a deserving girl who demonstrates athleticism, dedication, leadership and the ability to inspire others. Given in collaboration with the ANNIKA Foundation, superstar golf icon Annika Sorenstam's nonprofit organization, the award honored outstanding girls from 2009 - 2013.

Past Winners
Vivian Hao                                                        2013
Lianna Thomas                                                2012
Winter Vinecki                                                 2011
Caitlin Baker                                                     2010


By Women's Sports Foundation


Read the Press Release

AUGUST 24, 2010: The Women's Sports Foundation will celebrate the accomplishments of the top women athletes at the 31st Annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards gala on Tuesday, October 12, 2010. An impressive list of elite athletes from 20 different sports is vying for the evening’s top honors – Sportswoman of the Year – Individual and Team awards.

Learn More

Named for Dr. Darlene A. Kluka, full professor and Interim Dean in the School of Human Performance & Leisure Sciences at Barry University, the award was established in 2001 as our way of respecting her leadership, vision and desire to create a legacy that acknowledges the outstanding performance of researchers.

Wilma Rudolph Courage

Given to a female athlete who exhibits extraordinary courage in her athletic performance, demonstrates the ability to overcome adversity, makes significant contributions to sports and serves as an inspiration and role model to those who face challenges, overcomes them and strives for success at all levels.


Sign up for our newsletter to receive infrequent updates, news and information.